NBA 2022: This is how the playoffs work – simply explained – US SPORT NBA BASKETBALL

No basketball league is as big as the NBA. This is where the best basketball players in the world compete with each other every year. The grand finale of the NBA season is the playoffs and subsequent finals.

Last season’s top 16 teams compete in the NBA playoffs. Eight teams are represented from both conferences (East and West). The six teams from each conference with the best win-loss ratio qualify directly for the playoffs. Seats seven through ten still have a chance to advance to the playoffs via the so-called play-in tournament.

NBA entry tournament

The Play-In Tournament is the last chance for teams to advance to the NBA Playoffs. Four teams play in three games for the bottom two playoff places. Put seven and put eight in a conference game against each other. The winner takes the seventh “playoff seed.” The loser of the game plays the winner of the duel between ninth and tenth place. Thus, the play-in tournament makes the seventh and eighth playoff Participants determined The three Play-In games will be this year from April 12 to 15!

Which teams this year in play in play, find out here!

The NBA Playoffs

The eight playoff participants from each conference play in a knockout system to participate in the finals. All playoff rounds will be played in a best-of-seven format. The first team to win four games qualifies for the next round. Which team competes against whom is determined as follows:

The “1st seed” conference (the team with the most regular season wins) plays against the last team to advance to the playoffs via play-in games. The second best team in the playoff faces the seventh best team in the playoff. 3rd place team plays against 6th place and 4th and 5th place teams play against each other.

In the second round of the playoff, only four teams per conference will play. The playoff semifinals are the final conference calls. The two game winners then compete in the NBA Finals.

The playoffs start on April 16 this year. The two participants for the finals will then be known until May 30th!

The NBA Finals

The NBA Finals start on June 2 this year. The two conference winners are vying for the 2021/2022 NBA season title. In addition to the NBA title, the finals winner also receives the coveted Larry O’Brien Championship trophy.


Since 1984, the winner of the NBA Finals has been awarded the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy. Previously, the NBA played for the Walter A. Brown Trophy!


Unlike many European competitions, the NBA Finals will be played in a best-of-seven format. This means that one team must win four times against the other to secure the NBA title.

The NBA champion has been crowned every year since 1950. Here is the list of teams that have won the title so far.

The NBA Calendar

date phase
12.04.-15.04. Entry Tournament
04.16.-05.30. decisive games
02.06.-19.06. finals

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top